Wie gelingt Mobile Marketing mit qualitativen Product Analytics?

Binh Dang – App Marketing Manager

Dass datengetriebenes Marketing maßgeblich zum Erfolg von mobilen Apps beiträgt, dafür sollten Mobile Marketing Manager mittlerweile sensibilisiert sein. Oft ist das aber doch nicht so selbstverständlich und dann gibt es hier auch noch eine weitere Herausforderung: Eine dürftige Datengrundlage mit der wir leider nicht das volle Potenzial unseres (datengetriebenen) Marketings erschließen können. App Marketing ist im Wesentlichen Produktmarketing. Und somit sind Marketer auf Product Analytics Daten angewiesen, um daraus Erkenntnisse für ihre Marketingpraxis zu gewinnen. Wie sonst können App Entwickler ihre App promoten, wenn sie im unklaren darüber sind, was die App so besonders für die Nutzer macht?

In diesem Blogartikel zeigen wir euch wie man Daten der qualitativen Produktanalyse (Product Analytics) für das mobile Marketing nutzen kann:

  • Welche Rolle spielen qualitative Daten aus der Produkt-/Anwendungsanalyse im mobile Marketing-Datenpuzzle?
  • Welche technologischen Möglichkeite, also qualitative App Analysetools gibt es, die uns hier weiterbringen können? Der Anbieter unserer Wahl ist hier UXCam.
  • Wie sieht eine datengesteuerter mobile App-Marketingstrategien aus, die sich auf qualitative Daten stützt?

Warum brauche ich qualitative Daten im mobile Marketing?

Es gibt einige Herausforderungen in der Datenanalyse, die uns daran hindern ein Produkt wirklich so zu verstehen, dass wir das Wissen für Marketingkampagnen nutzen können.

Zum einen arbeiten wir häufig mit quantitativen Daten im Produktmarketing, die aber oft problematisch sind: Diskrepanzen, Fraud oder Daten-Inkonsistenz. Diese Probleme können die Zahlen, die wir betrachten, unzuverlässig oder irreführend machen.

Zum anderen sprechen oder denken wir selten über qualitative Daten nach. Wie zum Beispiel das Verhalten von Nutzern, Einstellungen und so weiter. Das hat viele Gründe, aber hauptsächlich, weil wir oftmals keine zuverlässigen technischen Mittel zur Sammlung und Analyse solcher Daten haben.

Last but not least nehmen viele Marketer die Bereiche Produkt und Marketing immer noch getrennt wahr. Und dementsprechend achten sie selten darauf, wie Erkenntnisse aus der Produktanalyse in ihre Marketingentscheidungen einfließen könnten.

Als Mobile Marketing Experten, die ähnlichen Herausforderungen gegenüber stehen, haben wir uns bei Customlytics gefragt, wie wir hier Lösungen für das Produktmarketing finden können. Bei quantitativen Daten könnten wir uns auf seriöse Anbieter wie Amplitude, Mixpanel oder kostenlose Angebote wie Google Firebase verlassen. Darüber hinaus haben wir natürlich auch unsere eigenen Data Warehousing und Business Intelligence (BI) Lösungen, die in Verbindung mit diesen App Analytics Anbietern den vollen Support bieten.  Während die quantitative Analyse das „Was“ und „Wer“ ziemlich gut beantwortet, suchen wir oft nach dem „Warum“ und „Wie“. Es gibt einfach Indikatoren, die nicht mit Zahlen gemessen werden können, wie z.B. Emotionen, die ein App-Nutzer vor dem Kauf oder dem Verlassen einer App empfindet. Oder die Irrungen und Wirrungen, die User während einer Session mit schlechter UX/UI erfahren. Unsere Marketingstrategie verlangt sowohl qualitative als auch quantitative Daten. Was können wir also tun?

Technologische Lösungen für die qualitative Datenanalyse im Produktmarketing

Product Analytics mit qualitativen Daten (oder, qualitative Product-/App Analytics) wird selten angewandt, da die relevanten Technologien fehlen. Und selbst wenn man ein solches technisches Tool findet, ist die Vertrauenswürdigkeit dieses Tools oft auch fragwürdig. Appsee war ein verlässlicher Anbieter auf dem Markt und eine der besten Optionen. Nachdem der Service allerdings verkauft wurde, mussten wir von vorne anfangen, um eine passende Alternative für unsere Projekte zu finden – bis wir auf UXCam gestoßen sind. Man kann wohl behaupten, dass UXCam der Marktführer unter den Analysetools für die mobile App-Nutzererfahrung ist.

Mit einem Tool wie UXCam könnt ihr das Big Picture eurer App als auch eure User verstehen. Basierend auf den Datenerkenntnissen, die das Tool liefert, kann man weiter nach spezifischen User-Flows, nach Funnels oder wichtigen User-Events aufschlüsseln. Im letzten Schritt kann man individuelle User Journey analysieren, die im mobile Marketing ziemlich wichtig sind.

So erhalten wir eine vollständige 360-Grad-Sicht der Nutzererfahrung in der App – und das mit nur einer technologischen Tool-Lösung.

UXCam ist unter Datenschutz-Berücksichtigung konzipiert worden, d.h. es ist DSGVO konform und Nutzerdaten werden sich gehandhabt. Nicht umsonst vertrauen Finanzinstitute und Unternehmen wie NBC, Nissan und Costa Coffee einem Tool wie UXCam. Insgesamt nutzen mehr als 10.000 Mobile Experten UXCam, natürlich auch wir hier bei Customlytics.

Wer jetzt denkt, dass technische Lösungen wie UXCam nur für Produktfeatures und UX/UI Verbesserungen wichtig sind – sie können viel mehr. Und zwar eure mobiles Produktmarketing optimieren, indem ihr über das Verhalten eurer Nutzer in der App mehr erfahren könnt. Das heißt, damit lassen sich sowohl In-App Marketing Aktivitäten (wie z.B. Mobile CRM) als auch Performance-Marketing und die App Store Optimization (ASO) verbessern und anreichern. Schauen wir uns an, wie UXCam und Product Analytics im Allgemeinen das mobile Marketing optimieren.

1. Die App und Nutzerverhalten mit User Flows verstehen lernen

Der erste Schritt, um eure App zu verstehen (um sie dann zu vermarkten), besteht darin zu lernen wie sie funktioniert. Und die beste Art und Weise das zu tun, ist die User Journey zu skizzieren. D.h. wie die User innerhalb der App interagieren können. Mit Hilfe eines qualitativen App Analyse Tools könnt ihr einen Einblick in den User Flow der App bekommen, der euch zeigt was User sehen, anklicken, hineinzoomen, swipe on oder off uws. Der User Flow zeigt außerdem, wie beliebt individuelle Screens sind.

Ein beispielhafter Userflow im UXCam Tool

2. Wie Heatmaps das Produktmarketing optimieren können

Der User-Flow bietet zwar einen Überblick über die User Journey in der App, zeigt aber nicht was die User in einzelnen Screens konkret tun. Manchmal ist es nützlich zu wissen, auf welche Schaltflächen die Nutzer tippen oder mit welchen Inhalten sie am meisten interagieren. Hier kommt die Heatmap ins Spiel.

So sieht die Heatmap bei UXCam aus 

Kurz gesagt, die Heatmap zeigt wie jedes einzelne Element auf dem Bildschirm einer App von Nutzern berührt wird. Eine höhere Heatmap (rot) bedeutet, dass mehr Nutzer das Element berührt haben. Hier wird also verständlich, warum User mit welchen Meilensteinen (Screens) interagieren (z.B. weil es hier etwas Interessantes zu berühren gibt).

Manchmal geraten User so sehr in Frustration über einen Bildschirm, was zu rage tapping führt, d.h. heftiges und schnelles Tippen auf bestimmte Punkte auf dem Screen. Sie wollen entweder, dass die App schneller geladen wird (z.B. während eines eingefrorenen Frames) oder dass sie nicht weiter geladen wird (z.B. nach nachdem man versehentlich auf eine eine unerwünschte Schaltfläche getippt hat). Diese Szenarien spiegeln das wider, was den Nutzern nicht gefällt. Und das sollten App Entwickler in ihren mobile Marketing Bemühungen beachten.

3. Mit Session Recordings durch die Brille des Nutzers schauen

Mobile Marketing Manager kommen nicht umhin sich zu fragen, was mit Usern passiert, wenn sie ihre mobile App nutzen. Statische Bilder reichen einfach nicht mehr aus – da gibt es Komplexitäten, die man einfach durch die Brille des User sehen muss, um sie zu verstehen.

Einen Sneak Peak in das zu bekommen, was der User in der App berührt und was ihm gezeigt wurde, ist mit Analytics Technologien wie UXCam möglich. Mit Produktmarketing Tools wie diesen habt ihr eine (legale) Möglichkeit User Sessions wiederzugeben, nachdem diese auf dem Device des Users aufgezeichnet wurden (natürlich unter DSGVO Richtlinien).

Die Vorteile für das mobile Marketing sind mannigfaltig.

  • Durch die Videoaufzeichnung und die Dynamik, die diese bietet, bekommt man viel besser ein Gefühl für User Interaktionen.
  • Dies bietet einen viel besseren Kontext, um User-Events in der App zu verstehen (bzw. Was passiert bevor und nachdem ein User einen Event in der App tätigt).
  • Letztendlich zeigen Session Recordings einige Komplexitäten auf wie z.B. diskontinuierlich wiederholte Aktionen und Pausen, die damit korrelieren können, was Users in der App genau anhalten und länger betrachten wollen.

Wir bekommen mit Session Recordings wertvolle Details in komplexe User Journeys geliefert. Das macht dieses Feature so einzigartig. Mit statischen Heatmaps oder User Flows wäre das nicht möglich.

„See through your users eyes“, verspricht UXCam

Wie kann ich qualitative Daten im Mobile Marketing nutzen?

1. Qualitative Daten im Performance Marketing

Am Anfang eines mobile App Marketing Funnels steht die User Acquise (UA). Unser App Marketing Handbuch Mobile Developer’s Guide gibt hier einen guten Überblick zum Thema UA & Retargeting Eines der Hauptziele dabei ist es, Nutzer auf die App erst einmal aufmerksam zu machen oder die Sichtbarkeit der App zu verbessern. Das kann man entweder mit Werbung (bezahlte UA) oder ohne Werbung (organische UA) schaffen. Während die organische Nutzeracquise langfristige Wirkung und Effizient verspricht, steigert man mit bezahlten Marketingaktivitäten die Reichweite massiv.

Als Mobile Marketing Manager nutzen wir Performance-Marketing, um solche Ziele zu erreichen. Wie der Name schon sagt, handelt es sich dabei um performancebasiertes, bezahltes Marketing (Werbung). Das Ziel ist es, trackbare und damit optimierbare Werbekampagnen zu fahren, die Millionen von Nutzern erreichen, ohne Millionen von Euros zu verbrennen. Die Wirksamkeit jeder Kampagne hängt davon ab, wie die App-Produktseiten in Apples App Store (iOS) oder Googles Play Store (Android) überzeugen und Nutzer dazu bewegen, die App zu installieren. Manchmal setzt man auch Retargeting-Kampagne ein, um User die abgewandert sind, wieder in die App zu bringen.

In beiden Fällen ist eine korrekte User-Segmentierung wichtig, um sicherzustellen, dass ihr die richtigen Zielgruppen ansprecht. Darüber hinaus solltet ihr visuelle und textliche Assets für das Marketing nutzen, die relevant sind. Noch wichtiger ist es, dass die Daten, die ihr dafür nutzt aus eurer mobilen App kommen – genauer gesagt von euren Nutzern.

Für die Segmentierung ist es wichtig, dass ihr nicht von euren subjektiven Ansichten, wer eure User sind, voreingenommen seid. Personas und andere reduktionistische Sichtweisen werden euch nicht beantworten, “was veranlasst meine Nutzer, die App herunterzuladen?” Alles, was ihr über eure Benutzer zu wissen glaubt, basiert höchstwahrscheinlich auf Annahmen, nicht auf Daten.

Um Daten zu gewinnen, hilft ein Tool wie UXCam, um User Session Videos aufzuzeichnen und zu analysieren. Viele Spekulationen können somit sofort zur Seite geräumt werden, weil man so realistische Einblicke bekommt, worauf User achten, was sie ignorieren, was sie interessiert usw. Und somit werden User auf ihre In-App Interaktionen segmentiert, also wie sie sich in der App verhalten.

UXCam hält viele Optionen für die User-Segmentierung bereit

Um relevante Marketing Ads für euer mobiles Marketing zu erstellen, hilft die Heatmap. So findet ihr heraus, welche Features und Content hervorgehoben werden müssen und welche Elemente nicht erwähnt werden sollten. Das hilft nicht nur dabei Ads zu optimieren, sondern einfach besser Prioritäten in der Performance-Marketing Strategie zu setzen.

2. App Store Optimierung im mobilen Marketig

In unserem ganzheitlichen mobile Marketing Funnel ist die App Store Optimierung in der Regel mit Performance-Marketing gekoppelt. Zum einen soll der gesamte mobile Traffic zum App/Play Store Eintrag der App führen. Sobald das passiert, habt ihr das Ziel eures Performance-Marketings so gut wie erreicht, da die Nutzer meist in den App Stores die Entscheidung treffen, ob sie installieren. Noch wichtiger ist, dass diese Entscheidungen durch eine Vielzahl von App Store Assets, sowohl textlich als auch visuell, beeinflusst werden.

Das wohl beliebteste App Store Asset sind die Screenshots, eine Gallerie von Visualisierungen, die Usern zeigen wie die App funktioniert. Ähnlich wie bei den Werbemitteln erfordert die Erstellung von Screenshots ein gutes Verständnis der Nutzer und was relevant für ihre Entscheidung zum Download der App ist. Natürlich kann man hier auch wieder spekulieren, aber diese Entscheidung sollte auf Daten aus der Produktanalyse basieren.

Erinnern wir uns zurück an den User Flow, den wir oben genannt haben. Er zeigt uns, welche Phasen im Flow beliebter sind als die anderen. So bekommt man ein gutes Gefühl dafür, was für User relevant ist. Da man hier sieht in welcher Reihenfolge User was in der App tun, kann man daran auch die Reihenfolge der Screenshots anordnen. Genauso kann die Heatmap nützlich sein, um herauszufinden was User auf Screens besonders interessiert, um dies neuen Nutzern zu zeigen und mehr Installs zu generieren.

Der User Flow ist die beste Option, um die beste Reihenfolge von ASO-Screenshots festzlegen

In einem kürzlich durchgeführten ASO-Projekt haben wir ähnliche Logiken mit vergleichbaren Daten angewandt, um die ideale Reihenfolge der Screenshots für unseren Kunden CodeCheck zu finden. Die Ergebnisse waren positiv und haben der App geholfen einen positiven Conversion Rate Uplift zu erzielen.

Mehr über unsere Case Study mit CodeCheck erfahren!

Screenshots sind nicht das einzige ASO-Asset, das man für eine bessere Konvertierungen optimieren kann. Es gibt hier noch andere Assets von denen man ebenfalls profitiert. Zum Beispiel Videos, die besser werden je mehr man Einsicht in App Sessions von Usern bekommt und wie sie sich in der App bewegen. Die Möglichkeiten sind also grenzenlos.

3. Mit Qualitativen Daten CRM Maßnahmen, Nutzerbindung und Engagement verbessern

Sobald die Nutzeracquise abgeschlossen ist, sollte die Userbase der App stetig wachsen. Aber wie hält man User in der App? Die Antwort lautet immer: Mit CRM Maßnahmen (Customer Relationship Management). Es gilt, Kunden – die unter Umständen kostspielig eingekauft wurden – für die eigene App zu begeistern und langfristig zu binden. Wir bei Customlytics gehen dieses mobile Marketing Thema aus zwei Perspektiven an:

  • Aus technologischer Sicht als Teil der App Marketing Infrastruktur. D.h. Tools integrieren und Backend-Setups strukturieren.
  • Aus Kampagnen Sicht, d.h. Retention Kampagnen aufsetzen und mit eben dieser Struktur automatisiert durchführen.

Da wir in diesem Artikel über Daten sprechen, die für die Optimierung von mobile Marketing Kampagnen herangezogen werden können, liegt der Fokus hier auf der Kampagnenseite.

Damit eine Retention Kampagne zur Bindung von Nutzern funktionieren kann, muss zunächst ein Konzept zum Eventtracking stehen. Hier werden alle relevanten Ereignisse/Events zur Conversion (nach der App Installation) abgebildet und analysiert. Sie werden so konfiguriert, dass sie als Trigger für In-App-Nachrichten, Push-Benachrichtigungen und andere CRM-Messaging-Methoden verwendet werden können. Doch selbst mit einer detaillierten Liste von Events und relevanten Informationen (Event Attributes) ist das nur der erste Schritt, um mit CRM Erfolge zu feiern. Man muss herausfinden, welche Events im Fokus stehen sollen, auf welchen Attributen sie basieren, wie sie priorisiert werden sollen und warum.

Solche Fragen können mit Hilfe von Tools wie UXCam teilweise oder sogar vollständig beantwortet werden. Mit dem Feature “Reverse Flow” kann man zum Beispiel sehen, was die letzten Meilensteine oder App-Screens waren, die Nutzer besucht haben, bevor sie die App verlassen haben. Und mit welchen Inhalten oder Elementen sie zuletzt interagiert haben: 

Wie dieser Beispiel-Flow zeigt, neigen viele User dazu, die Produktübersicht für ihre Benutzerprofilseite zu verlassen und dann auszusteigen – es kommt nicht zur Conversion. Da das Ziel von CRM Maßnahmen darin besteht, User in der App zu halten, sollten App Exits verhindert werden. Mit diesen Daten aus dem Flow könnte man zum Beispiel entscheiden, dass User eine In-App Message auf ihrer Profilseite erhalten, wenn sie von der Produktübersicht zurückkommen. Um sie so in der App zu halten.

Auch dies ist nur eine von vielen Möglichkeiten, UXCam und gleichwertige Tools für CRM Maßnahme zu nutzen.

Fazit: Qualitative Daten sind das fehlende Puzzlestück im mobile Marketing

Wir haben in diesem Artikel ein paar Anwendungsfälle eines App Analytics Tool skizziert, um euch so zu zeigen wie ihr mit qualitativen Daten das Produktmarketing eurer App optimieren könnt. Über den mobile Marketing Funnel hinweg begegnen uns immer mal wieder unzureichenden Daten, die mit Insights aus Tools wie UXCam angereichert werden könnten: Über Nutzerverhalten, User Segmentierung bis hin zur Validierung von Creatives – qualitative Daten wie diese bereichern mobile App-Marketingstrategien enorm.

Natürlich sind die technologische Infrastruktur und KPIs der Kern des datengetriebenen mobile Marketings. Letztendlich, sind qualitative Daten das fehlende Teil im Datenpuzzle. Qualitative Data Insights helfen dabei Marketingaktivitäten einfacher und präziser zu steuern, gerade wenn wir es mit komplexer UX und unklarem Nutzerverhalten zu tun haben.  Ihr findet in diesem Blogpost einige Vorschläge, wie und wo qualitative Daten in der Marketingstrategie eurer mobilen App zum Einsatz komme: 

  • Performance Marketing
  • App Store Optimierung 
  • mobile CRM. 
Andere Bereiche, wie zum Beispiel die Monetarisierung von mobilen Apps können hier ebenfalls von Interesse sein (um z.B. zu erfahren, welche Preispläne bei bestehenden Nutzern beliebt sind, um so Monetarisierungsmodelle anzupassen). Wir hoffen unsere Vorschläge sind euch wie immer eine Inspiration die Marketingaktivitäten und das Kampagnenmanagement für eure App noch datengesteuerter zu gestalten. Dafür stehen wir euch (und steht euch UXCam) mit unserem Full-Stack App Marketing Support zur Seite.

Like this post? Don't forget to share it!

Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter

You may also like...

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Using Product Analytics To Inform Data-driven App Marketing Strategies

Binh Dang
– App Marketing Manager

Mobile app marketing is a data-driven business. Yet, the age-old challenge of insufficient data has been preventing us from unlocking the full potential of what data can offer in mobile marketing. More importantly, as app marketing is essentially product marketing, we usually have to rely on the data from product analytics to generate insights for marketing. After all, how can you showcase your app if you don’t know what about it is so special to the users?

In this article, we will outline a few ways in which we can use product analytics to serve mobile marketing purposes. More specifically, we’ll highlight on:

  • The role of qualitative data from product/app analytics as the missing piece of the data puzzle in marketing
  • The technological possibilities of qualitative app analytics tools that can help (with the case of UXCam as our vendor of choice)
  • Typical forms qualitative data-driven app marketing strategies

Customlytics, App Marketing & Data

Sadly, several data challenges are stopping us from truly understanding the aspects of product that could best serve as resources for marketing. 

For one, we work the most with quantitative data, which constantly faces the problems of discrepancies, fraud, inconsistencies, and many more. These can easily make the numbers you’re looking at unreliable or misleading. 

For another, we rarely ever speak or think about qualitative data, such as users’ behaviors, attitudes, and so on. This is due to many reasons, but mainly because we don’t have a reliable technical or technological means of collecting and analyzing such data. 

Finally, even with the means to make product analytics, many marketers still perceive product and marketing separately. Consequently, they don’t pay attention to how product insights could inform marketing decisions.

As marketers sharing the same challenges, we at Customlytics have been scratching our heads in finding solutions for them. For quantitative data, we could depend on reputable vendors like Amplitude, Mixpanel, or the free offering of Google Firebase. We also have our own Data Warehousing and Business Intelligence (BI) capabilities, which amplify the support from these quantitative app analytics powerhouses. However, while they do answer the “What” and “Who” pretty well, we often look for the “Why” and “How” as well. There are indicators that can’t be measured with numbers, such as the emotions a user feels right before making a purchase or exiting an app, or the confusing going on in their mind during a session with poor UX/UI. Our marketing strategies demand to have both qualitative and quantitative data, so how do we deal with this?

UXCam, Product Analytics & Qualitative Data

Doing product analytics with qualitative data, or qualitative product/app analytics is rarely used largely due to an absence of relevant technologies. Even when you find one, you can’t even be sure yet if you could trust it. We used to be able to rely on Appsee, which was one of the best options available in the market. However, after they sold their service, we had to start finding an alternative all over again – until we found UXCam.UXCam is the market leader for mobile app experience analytics:

With UXCam, you’re able to understand the big picture of your app. Based on these findings, you can drill down further to specific flows, e.g. interesting funnels or important events. Finally, you can take the last step and analyze individual user journeys. 

This allows you to get a full 360-degree view on your user’s experience – by just using one solution.

UXCam was built with privacy by design. It’s GDPR-compliant architecture is accompanied by fully encrypted and tested security that keeps your data safe. This is proven by the fact that even financial institutions and companies like NBC, Nissan and Costa Coffee trust UXCam. Overall, 10,000+ mobile appexperts, including us at Customlytics, use UXCam.

Most importantly, these services are not only important for product features and UX/UI improvements. By learning more about user behaviors, you can inform your marketing strategies as well. From in-app marketing activities (like mobile CRM) to performance marketing and app store optimization (ASO), as long as you can use qualitative data, you can use UXCam or an equivalent tool to support it. Let’s explore what it’s capable of!

1. User flow

The first step towards understanding your app (in order to market it) is to learn how it works. And the best way to know how it works is to map out the user journey, that is, what can users interact with inside the app. With the help of a qualitative app analytics tool like UXCam, you can conjure a user flow from the app that represents what users see, tap on, zoom in, swipe off, and so on. It also shows how popular each screen is, based on the thickness that represents how many % of users spend time there, and how the screens are sequenced, based on how different screens are connected in chronological order.

A sample user flow on UXCam

2. Heat map

While the user flow provides a top-down high-level overview on the trends of user journeys in the app, it doesn’t show you what they do in each milestone (screen) specifically. Sometimes you need to see which buttons most users tap on, which contents they interact with the most, and so on. This is where UXCam’s heat map comes in.

A sample screen with UXCam’s heat map

In a nutshell, the heat map shows the extent to which each specific element on a screen of an app receives are touched by users. The heat scale represents the interaction popularity, e.g. higher heat (red) means more taps and/or from more users. It hints at why users tend to interact with which milestones (e.g. because there’s something valuable or interesting to touch on).

In addition, sometimes users get so frustrated at a screen that they begin “rage tapping”, or angrily and sometimes even violently and rapidly tapping on certain points on the screen. They either want the app to load faster (e.g. during a frozen frame) or to stop it from loading further (e.g. after mistakenly tapping on an unwanted button). These scenarios reflect what users don’t like, and apart from the attempts to improve the product itself, marketing efforts should also mind them.

3. Session recordings

Sometimes you’ll start wondering what exactly happens to users as they use your app. Static images just aren’t enough anymore – there are complexities that you just need to see things through users’ eyes to witness and solve. Wouldn’t you wish for a little sneak peek into what exactly was shown and touched by the users?

With such tools as UXCam, this is totally possible. You have the ability to legally replay and watch sessions of user interactions in your app after they are recorded directly on their devices (of course, it will follow procedures that comply with GDPR).

The advantages are plenty. 

  • You get to feel more dynamics around each recorded user interaction thanks to the nature of video motions. 
  • It provides further contexts for what happens before important events as well as after, in a sequence.
  • Finally, it reveals the complexities such as discontinuously repeated actions and pauses that may correlate to things users want to stop and stare at.

In any case, it’s the significantly higher level of detail that makes it invaluable. It unlocks a unique opportunity to take a deep dive into the complex user journey aspects that static heat maps or user flows can’t access.

“See through your users eyes”as promised by UXCam

Qualitative App Analytics & App Marketing

1. Performance marketing

On top of a mobile app marketing funnel, there’s user acquisition (UA). We have dedicated a whole chapter in our Mobile Developer’s Guide on this topic. One of the major goals of this is to increase the awareness of users about your app, or improving its visibility so more of them will see and know about it. You can either do it with advertising (paid UA) or without (organic UA). While organic UA offers great long-term impact and efficiency, paid efforts tend to promise massive coverage to make sure users notice your app at scale.

As mobile marketers, our go-to method is using performance marketing to reach such goals. As the name suggests, this involves performance-based paid marketing (advertising) efforts. The goal is to run trackable, and thus optimizable, ad campaigns that reach millions of users without burning millions of dollars. The effectiveness of each campaign depends on how well the messaging persuades users, textually and visually, to visit their App Store Product Page (iOS) or Google Play Store Listing (Android) and install it. Sometimes, a retargeting campaign may also be employed to bring back churned users into the app.

In either case, you will need correct segmentation to make sure you target the right audience. In addition, you will need to make sure the visual assets as well as the copywriting are relevant to them. More importantly, the data that helps you determine them is only reliable coming from your app – more precisely, from the current, real users of the app.

For segmentation, it’s important that you aren’t primed by the subjective views on who your users are. User archetypes, personas and similar forms of such reductionist practices won’t answer the technical questions of “What makes users download your app?”. Anything you think you know about the users is most likely based on assumptions, not data, and it isn’t good enough.

To gain data, we would use a tool like UXCam to record and analyze videos of user sessions. We can quickly eliminate most of the guesswork because you see a reality of what users pay attention to (e.g. they stop while browsing to see something interesting), what they ignore (e.g. keep scrolling without taking any action), what intrigues them (e.g. zoom in on a small section on the screen), and so on. This is beyond interest and intent-based segmentation. This could help you segment users based on their actual in-app interactions.

UXCam provides many segmentation options

For the relevance of ad assets, we can use UXCam’s heat map to reveal what popular features and contents to highlight on, as well as what unpopular elements to avoid mentioning or showing. Not only will it help you identify opportunities for ad optimization, but it could also help you set better priorities in performance marketing.

2. App Store Optimization

In our holistic mobile marketing funnel, app store optimization is usually coupled with performance marketing. For one, all mobile traffic is supposed to lead to the App/Play store listing of your app. Unless deeplinking is in place and users have already installed (and/or also uninstalled) the app, users are redirected into an app store to install it. As soon as this happens, performance marketing’s mission is as good as accomplished, as users’ install decisions will mostly happen in the app stores. More importantly, these decisions can be influenced by a wide variety of app store assets, both textual and visual, and app store optimization (ASO) has the power to maximize such influence.

In our daily work at Customlytics, perhaps the most popular app store asset is the set of screenshots. In general, app store screenshots are a gallery of images about (and showcasing) your app to impress and convince users. Similar to the ad assets, this requires a thorough understanding of the users and what may be deemed relevant or irrelevant to them and their install decisions. There could be AB tests to find out, there could also be assumptions and superficial beliefs, which are fine, except they aren’t good enough. Things could be easier, faster and more accurate with data from product analytics.

Remember UXCam’s user flow we mentioned above? It also shows which stages or milestones in a flow are more popular than the others. This will give you both the sense of relevance based on real users’ interactions and the chronological order of events that could very well define the order of your app store screenshots when you show multiple units at once. As well as this, you can use the heat map to figure out what’s so special about each milestone and use the same thing to show to new users and get more installs.

User flow is a great way to estimate the best screenshots order, among others

In a recent ASO project, we applied similar logics with similar data to figure out an ideal screenshots order for CodeCheck, an app from one of our clients. The results were positive and we managed to help them achieve a positive conversion rate uplift.

Learn more about our CodeCheck case study here!


Screenshots aren’t the only thing you need to optimize in ASO for better conversions. There are other assets that could benefit as well. For instance, producing a video could get so much easier now that you can watch recordings of real users’ in-app sessions to get inspiration. The possibilities are limitless, so if you are ever in doubt, don’t hesitate to contact us to discuss plans to exploit product analytics for marketing purposes, as well as our partner UXCam to learn more about the full extent of their technology.

3. CRM, Retention & Engagement

Once the UA phase is done, your user base should grow strongly. But how do you keep them? The answer is always CRM, which stands for Customer Relationship Management. The goal of CRM is twofold: to retain users in the app, then keep them actively engaged with it – hence, retention and engagement. At Customlytics, we split the topic into 2 sides: 

  • The technological side that is part of the larger mobile marketing infrastructure, where tools are integrated and the backend setups are structured
  • The campaign side where actual campaigns can be run and automated by this infrastructure. 

Because we are dealing with the data needed for better marketing campaign optimization, we’ll be focusing on the campaign side this time.

For a retention campaign to work, one of the very first things we need to do is map out an event tracking concept. This is where all relevant conversion events (after app installs) are mapped, analyzed and used to configure the triggers for in-app messages, push notifications and other CRM messaging methods. However, even with a full list of detailed events and their relevant information (event attributes), it’s just the first step towards CRM success, you need to figure out which events to focus on, based on what attributes, how they should be prioritized, and why.

Such questions can be answered partly or fully with the help of UXCam. For example, with their Reverse Flow feature, you can see the last milestones or in-app screens a user visits right before exiting, and what they had interacted with prior to that, like this:

As seen in the sample flow, many users tend to leave the Product Overview section for their User Profile page then just quit – no purchase is made, or conversion event occurs. As CRM’s purpose is to keep users in there, preventing their exits is a main objective, and with this kind of data, you can already decide something (e.g. an in-app message) needs to happen on the User Profile page for those who return from the Product Overview section to keep them from quitting.

Again, this is but one of many ways to make use of UXCam and equivalent tools for mobile CRM. As long as you have enough data, which you will, anything is possible.

Conclusion

Above are just a few simple use cases of a qualitative app analytics tool in mobile app marketing. Across the marketing funnel, there are always black spots of insufficient or missing data that could be remedied with insights from tools such as UXCam. From user behaviors and segmentation to creative production and validation, these tools could fit in mobile app marketing strategies perfectly if you let them do their job.

In the end, what they contribute is the major missing piece of the data puzzle that is qualitative data. The tech, the infrastructure, and the KPIs are, without a doubt, the core of data-driven app marketing, and that’s what we rely on every day. But the extra piece of qualitative data sometimes just makes things so much easier and more accurate for us, especially when we deal with complex UX and unclear user intents.We have outlined some suggestions for qualitative data-driven marketing strategies with UXCam, from performance marketing and app store optimization to mobile CRM and retention campaigns. Other topics, such as monetization, could benefit as well (e.g. learning which price plans are popular among existing users with UXCam to inform a new pricing strategy). We hope they can inspire you to go above and beyond in getting more data for marketing. Of course, we’re always happy to help if you need support in app marketing setups and campaign management. Finally, we’re sure our friends at UXCam will be glad to show you more about their tool as well.

Like this post? Don't forget to share it!

Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter

You may also like...

Leave a Reply